04
Feb
09

Patterns

I guess I’m  easily distracted.  Things catch my  eye, whether I’m looking for photographic possibilities in the yard or just walking from the front yard, after filling the feeder with thistle seed,  to the backyard to spread food on the designated areas in the back.  Since we live between the Hayward and Calaveras faults, taking precautionary inventory pictures of the small things that are around the place  also puts me in the position of having my attention caught by some angle or other, some confluence of lines or texture.   The pattern shots here, with one exception, were taken for a part of one of the LVS classes on how to use a digital camera.  It’s a bit more challenging to find shots that will work with the one medium telephoto prime/macro lens I have for the digital body, but it works well for small to macro size patterns and reasonably well for patterns that are redpopctight enough that a small detail shot of the larger pattern will work.

This red popcorn ear from the garden is fully two and  three-quarters inches in length so it fit the parameters well and I just liked the sort of visual counterpoint going on with the darker kernels; your smileage may vary. *smile*.

I think  of pattern shots as extractions from a larger subject and, as mentioned in my post, “A Change in the Whether,” when I do something right, to me pattern shots and abstractions seem to have a sort of rhythm and tempo to them.

These flower pots caught my eye as I walked the area around the house looking for shots for class.  This shot could have benefitted from some of potpatcthat lovely late afternoon light, but it was not “kicking up” that day. Alas for light.

Pattern shots are a lot of fun to put up, large, as wallpaper on a computer display, if it’s not too hard to read any shortcut icons you may have on the surface.  The pots work okay but the following photograph of a rock from the Stewart Lithia mine in Pala, San Diego is a tad busy. Colloquially called, “graphic granite,”  it has a peculiar growth habit that gives it a pattern all its own, graphgrancsomething like  cuneiform, if written by a third-level apprentice  scribe who was  clearly  unable to color within the lines.

The mineral macro shots here were taken with the tripod head removed from the tripod and mounted on the post of a copy stand by means of a Bogen superclamp. Another superclamp holds an extra wide Lepp macrobracket to support two flashes that can be positioned to cover most styles of lighting-very handy to give full form to crystals (or whatever other macro subject is being recorded).  For purposes of passing some light through things from below there’s a plexiglas box in which can be set a flash below the subject, sitting on the copy stand base. This set-up allows things like this muscmagcmacro shot of patterns of magnetite crystals included in the hexagonal growth of this muscovite (mica) “book”.  I may be biased because it’s a mineral, *grin* but I enjoy this monochromatic abstract when the shot rolls around on my screensaver.

A pattern you want to explore and capture can catch you up unexpectedly anytime you are functioning with your photographer’s eyes alert.  This basket handle and weave caught my attention on a shelf above and behind the lighting  stand with a model skull on it that was wearing my coat to be a model in an assigned shot using bounce flash for a class. basktcasecAfter seeing it up there I had to bring it down and explore the surface from all around to see what distillation of elements of it’s appearance was drawing my attention.  Once I found that, it was added to the patterns/abstract collection.

I’ve collected patterns from lava flows, machine parts, oil sheens on water,  the rolling swells of a nearly exhausted boat wake, detail extracted from tufa towers, flattened tin cans affixed to the side of a building for protection, geyser muds, cooled cracked obsidian, dried cracked mud…all manner of subjects…I’ve had a ball stumbling across elements of a greater scene that can stand on their own. Take your camera out for a walk, you may too!

Happy Pixel Wrangling!

cheers,

pete


8 Responses to “Patterns”


  1. February 5, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Pete, You and I seem to be taking the same kind of shots at the moment. I’ve been obsessed with macro for the last few weeks, although I don’t have the fancy lighting and plexiglass set-up you describe. I, too, have been moving through my day with most of my brain engaged in looking for likely macro shots. You’ve given me the idea to pull some wicker baskets out of the cabinet and shoot them.

    My favorite of the shots you show today is the corn. Every single kernel unique, but within the same rhythm and tempo, which is a nice way you have chosen to describe it. Love the color, too.

    Did you make your plexiglass stand? I think I could use something like that. Karol

    • 2 Pete
      February 5, 2009 at 2:54 pm

      Hey Karol! Oh dear…am I forgetting to wear my foil hat that blocks broadcasting my thoughts? *grin* That was what I was going to add to my weekend, clear space to bring a bunch of baskets in from the steel cabinets in the garage to find more patterns, lol. Go for it! I think you are a more careful photographer than I am; I hope you’ll be posting the ones you like when you’re done.
      The lighting was essential for me when I was using my Nikons. I had to add extension tubes and reverse lenses in order to attain nX image factors: tons of light drop-off involved. I found a 5-dollar learner’s enlarger at a garage sale, took off the light source and lensboard and, voila!, copy stand with base. Add some reasonably adjustable means of placing extended arms (gooseneck or, in my case, cannibalized Lepp bracket parts) going out to each side to hold a flash and you’re in business. With my nikon gear this got me full TTL flash, which was terrifically handy, can’t afford to get all new Canon flashes and cables, but the cheap do-over capability (plus wireless triggers and a Minolta flash meter that allows additive flash measurement and has a macro sensor on a wand to figure out the contribution of each flash) helps figure out the light modeling and keep the exposure bracketing needs to a minimum.
      The plexiglas box is a make-do thing: it came with a set of Innovative Software’s Smartware integrated office suite software, to hold the four manuals together on a bookshelf. It’s tall enough to lay a flash on the side that’s on the desk and have the other side high enough above it to give the flash’s output the chance to spread a little before it hits the subject. I really should make a plexiglas-topped stage with x ,y, z axis adjustability to keep from having to make gross adjustments with the superclamp on the post, but that project is somewhere after building an anti-vibration stage for macro work in the long line of things to do.
      Thanks for coming by to have a look and letting me know which shot interested you: I know that pictures of bits of things aren’t everyone’s cuppa, lol. Have fun with your close-ups and macro shots!
      Cheers,
      pete
      sorry it’s such a long reply…I’m still working on this “succinct” thing.

  2. 3 lvsblog
    February 6, 2009 at 2:24 am

    I have always had a real soft spot for macro shots, especially in nature. There is something that is unveiled to me through the lens when I do macro shots. I love the basket shot. It has the rhythm of the corn kernels, which I also appreciate. It is the straps and edge on the basket that frame the shot that really catch my eye. I like symmetry of the weave offset by the asymmetry of the basket handle and trim.

    • 4 Pete
      February 6, 2009 at 11:59 am

      Hi Bean, I like your description, “unveiled,” nature macro seems to me a bit like studying astronomy…there’s this whole other level of existence that gets taken for granted at both scales, the smaller-than-we-are and the vastly-greater-than-we-are. Sometimes the parts seem familiar, such as tiny flowers, still perfectly petaled and with familiar structure and sometimes the sights are unexpected such as the little cylinders or balloons on stalked bases that occur with slime molds. Of course, if not cautious, one can develop a sort of tunnel vision. Looking at mosses at the crown of a tree through the lens one day, I was amazed to find one tiny growth that was the color of the oxidation salts of copper, a really nice blue. very exciting and I was determined to get it recorded to check for it on the Internet, until I “got my head out of my lens” to find that a spray paint blaze on the tree, unseen in the viewfinder, marking it for trimming had misted that one small section of moss, creating the odd color. Heh.
      I’m pleased that you like the patterns. Thank you for describing what about the shot gets your eye involved! That helps me think about how I’m using the elements available for composition adustment, much appreciated!
      Cheers!
      pete

  3. February 6, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Excellent shots and I quite like that first rock texture. Also the basket is great. And you may have given me a way to recycle my poor old enlarger that I’ll never use again! What a great idea 😉 I’m glad you explain how you do it all, very enjoyable read.

    Anita

    • 6 Pete
      February 6, 2009 at 2:28 pm

      Hi Anita, thanks! Despite the busy pattern, I’m currently using the graphic granite for a desktop, although it probably helps that it recalls the trip during which it was collected…that helps me overlook whatever visual confusion it creates with shortcuts over it *grin*.
      Aww, poor old enlarger…I should mention I kept all the parts in a nice, closed bulk-paper box in case I wanted to reassemble it, shouldn’t I? lol. Or maybe the rest could be converted into a campy hanging lamp, lol. Hope you find a great way to set up a copy-stand/macro station, it makes your macro lighting much more useful in how the shot can be tweaked. I’d also say how much easier everything becomes if you can manage the TTL automated flash cables and whatever modules are needed for the flash, I’m not up on all that stuff anymore, but it’s entirely manageable without, just a bit more trial and error. Oh, I also sometimes use a heavy old ball and socket tripod head, off of a tripod it can just sit on the desk and, between the flash head swivel and the tilting of the ball head, one can send light into areas from near the same level as the subject for fill, if needed.
      Tnanks again, I’m delighted the post was of interest!
      Cheers!
      pete

  4. 7 rainbow19
    February 6, 2009 at 6:48 am

    I’m here again and take some note from your articles for my learning.

    Now I start to look around on many objects in my craft room and find the interesting patterns as your photos showed me.

    Thank you for your sharing. 🙂

    • 8 Pete
      February 6, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      Hi rainbow, welcome back 🙂 I’m happy that you find my posts useful! Great idea, if your craft room is the odds-and-ends magnet that my garage is (that’s where I’ve put boxes of things set aside for eventual carving or odd little art assemblies) I bet you’ll be finding lots of interesting compositions to try with your camera. Have lots of fun with it!
      Thank you for coming to read and share what you’re doing!
      Cheers,
      pete


Leave a comment


Phrases that resonate in my head

Morning comes and morning goes with no regret
And evening brings the memories I can't forget
Empty rooms that echo as I climb the stairs
And empty clothes that drape and fall on empty chairs
.

From ‘Empty Chairs’

By Don McLean

Places to go, things to see…

Theme: Redoable Lite by Dean J Robinson
 All content, text and images, except where credited to other artists, ©2008-2010 Peter M. Spencer; all rights reserved. Use by permission.