06
Jan
09

A Change in the Whether

Stuck bubbles

Happy New Year! In recognition of the standard images of New Year’s celebrations, here are some bubbles. I’ve always liked watching bubbles, sometimes to the embarrassment of those friends still fearless enough to take lunch with someone bent on close visual examination of the utterly ordinary.

These bubbles, happily, are much easier to work with than the violent effervescence of champagne or a carbonated beverage; these are in a viscous liquid hand-soap that holds bubbles in a sort of stasis until the pumping of the soap disturbs them. They are a fun subject to shoot at about life-size, play with different lighting effects, sort through the possible viewpoints for an interesting abstract composition or an interesting pattern of specular highlights, or the reflections of the other bubbles. I use a small krypton bulb flashlight to see approximately what will happen when the flash(es) lighting the scene fire(s).

I had started experimenting with these a few days before I started another photographic course. As it turned out, part of the coursework was to take a couple of the pictures during your work for the first week and take the same subject again during the last week to apply what you’d absorbed during the lessons; I think of it as seeing how “whether” affects your new image. Whether you would use a different point of view, whether you would use a different depth of field or optically extract a different center of interest by restricting the zone of clear focus…a whole bunch of the standard ‘whether’ questions that crop up in photographic problem-solving.

At roughly the same time that class got underway, both of our cats started behaving “differently”. As the days progressed it became clear that our nearly 24-year old elder catcarla1 was in sudden, accelerated decline. Although she had been nearly blind with cataracts for some time, she’d not stopped going outside daily with people to enjoy some fresh-grown mild cat mint (sometimes climbing up into the pot to sit on the plant so that the younger cat wouldn’t get silly ideas about her sharing) and a good stretching roll on the sidewalk. This changed into her becoming frail in her walk and focused on finding an inaccessible, small place to hole up, frequently trying to leave the yard, causing whichever of us had chaperoned her walk to hustle before she managed to get into some cranny where we could not find her or from which we could not retrieve her.

We didn’t know what to make of the 12-yr old. For as long as he had lived with us, he’d followed people. Originally, he was mostly a gardening supervisor, scouting out where you should work next, coming over to inform you and then settling in an advantageous spot from which to carefully scrutinize your work, as if to be certain you weren’t pulling anything that Ought Not Be Pulled. Then I got this digital camera and he became Photographer Sidekick, Esq. Whenever I pulled out the tripod or put the camera strap over my neck and stepped into my Muck boots, Tyrone would appear and sit patiently while I collected gear. He’d precede me to the door and out we’d go. For the first few minutes he’d check the yard for interlopers while I set up a shot. I’d sit on a low brick retaining wall to take pictures of the flowers and grasses and work for a bit, take the camera from my face and there would be Tyronetyredwoods sitting either upright or Sphinx-like, crowding my right elbow, happy as a clam. If I set up for bee practice, he’d be sitting slightly in front of the tripod legs watching the bees, looking at the lens and back to the bees. He did not, however, approve of me taking *his* picture and, until he was too ill to thwart me, the only decent shot I got of him was when he came out under the redwoods in the backyard with me, settled into the deep shade of the lower redwood branches and debris at the trunk and I sneaked a shot when he looked up to see what I was doing (seen above).

We got both cats into the vet, knowing how poorly Carla was doing and thinking that maybe Tyrone’s teeth were bothering him again, despite brushing, or that his insulin doses needed fine-tuning. We discovered that Carla’s kidneys were about what one would expect in a 23-year old cat, which we had anticipated, and that Tyrone had a shadow on his x-ray, about the size of a golf ball, which at only 12 years of age, we were not prepared for at all. Soon, biopsy and CT scan would show this to be an extremely intrusive and fast-growing lung cancer, which quickly metastasized to several other locations.

Numbly, we gave both of our beloved friends palliative care for as long as they seemed to take comfort. Carla got the right of way, anywhere, and whatever she felt she could eat. Supervised trips outside soon fell away and she dozed where she could hear someone working at a desk. Tyrone, with all that black fur and the sun bakingly hot in the afternoons, spent hours supervised outside, where he started to take on the behavior Carla had been exhibiting, finding a small shaded hidey-hole at the base of dense plants or in long millet stems in under a rose bush to curl up in. Turn your back and he’d have vanished from sight. I would take a lunchbox, a book, a director’s chair, water and my silver reflectent umbrella and sit, keeping both myself and any exposed Tyrone bits from overheating in the direct sun.

In mid-September, Carla left us, sometime in the very early hours of the morning, apparently passing in her sleep. Tyrone seemed as lost by this as we were and started sleeping most of the day away, in under the parlor organ with his head propped on the top note of the bass foot-pedals. Within three weeks it was obvious that palliative care was no longer effective enough and it was time to help him out of pain; we took him “visiting” to the vet’s one final time.

During this melancholy period, the photographic course rolled on. I’d not really considered how hard it would be to take up the tripod or the camera, look up and not see a very large black fuzzball waddling authoritatively in my direction or a petite, superbly-camouflaged elderly tortoiseshell heading for the door. As I went about the final assignments alone, this added a new “whether” to the choices made in re-shooting the subject from the first week for the last assignment of the course: whether to try to inject my mood into the image or shoot it straight. Looking around in the soap bottle for a new composition, I found a domed bubble that was reflecting the bubbles above it and decided to go with that. The teal-blue and silvery bubbles of the original seemed too cheerful to me, mindful of the gaping hole in this room, where my photography companion would normally be, and the empty office chair in the other room where our elder cat used to take comfort in hearing someone working nearby. Opening a desk drawer, I dug out a filter holder, mounting it on the end of the lens. I went to the back room equipment drawers, selected an old Kodak 80A Wratten Gel filter and placed it in the holder. I adjusted my exposure to account for the loss of light due to the deep blue filter and took a few exposures, adjusting depth of field and lighting along the way.

Nocturne for Carla and Tyrone

The result captured much of what I wanted, but I would like to have shot this at about 2.5X magnification to pick up the bubble reflections in the domed bubble; they only really show up at the original image size. I also imagine two small moons would look nice in there but that’s a job for image manipulation, and I don’t think I could do it the way I imagine it.

I think of most pattern shots and abstract shots as a form of music, each with its tempo, tone, and rhythm…this is a Nocturne for Carla and Tyrone.

tyrone1

carla2

May your New Year be blessed,

pete


10 Responses to “A Change in the Whether”


  1. January 7, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Aww! I am so sorry to hear about the cats. Nice blog, though! Thanks for showing me it.

    • 2 Pete
      January 7, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      Hey, there you are!
      Thank you, Kate, I’m grateful for your condolence. I still haven’t gotten used to not having to open the front door millimeter by millimeter to see if either cat has a nose to the back of it. So it goes.
      As to the blog, I’m still playing with ideas for it. I haven’t yet, for example, managed to introduce fractals into the mix, though that was part of the original idea. ” ’tis a puzzlement” as the line goes. Whaddya think, fractal of the week?, …of the moment? *shrug*
      Thanks for coming to check out der blog and for leaving me a nice comment; it’s good to find a ‘note on the door’ when you can’t be at your blog to see who has come up the walk.
      Cheers,
      pete

  2. January 7, 2009 at 5:25 am

    I am very touched by your beautiful tribute to your lost family members. I have been in these shoes, so I know you wrote with a lump in your throat.-k-

    • 4 Pete
      January 7, 2009 at 2:36 pm

      Hi Karol,
      For a while I had what seemed to be the whole camel in my throat, but writing about the events seems to help adjust, even when it necessitates hours of trimming the next day to bring down the sheer volume of what is still a very long post. I still can’t figure out how their lives slipped by so quickly. I know you’ve walked this stretch of road before, the history of your Three Dog Studio name and your memorial to Mannix are lump-inducing reads for me. The concept never seems to get easier.
      Thank you so much for your thoughtful and understanding comment.
      Cheers,
      pete

  3. January 7, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Sorry to hear about your cats. Thanks for the pics.

    • 6 Pete
      January 7, 2009 at 3:27 pm

      Hi James, thank you for your thoughtfulness. I miss ’em a lot.
      And thank you for coming by this experiment online, I hope the pictures look okay on other monitors out there. I’m thinking of going to the library to go online to see if they’re appearing on other monitors as I think they are. I had adjusted my monitor just before taking Tyrone in the redwoods, so I know it isn’t actually too dark as an image, but it’s so close that the visual contrast of that white background of the larger image page on wordpress, or a brightly lit room, must surely make it seem so. Maybe. I guess. I hope they were interesting for you, thank you!
      Cheers,
      pete

  4. January 7, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I’m sorry about your cats and to lose them so close together is awful. I know just how it feels. My California dog and cat have gone now too and I miss them. I got them at the shelter out there and brought them back to Michigan with me. The three of us lived in the cab of that rental truck for a few days. I remember driving at night with the big ole moon out there and Smokey laying on the dash of the truck just enjoying the view. And my ever faithful Patches, he was the best dog I ever had.

    Your bubbles are great but what I really like are the pictures of your cats, they’re beautiful. You have a wonderful way with words Pete 😉

    Anita

    • 8 Pete
      January 8, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      Hi Anita, I bet that trip developed really strong bonds, too. Traveling along to places where everything is unfamiliar, save for your fellow family members, is said to to do that. I hope you ended up with more pictures by which to remember yours than I managed to do here.
      It is hard when their passings fall so close. We rescued a lot of baby rabbits from our yard for a couple of years (some twit dumped two does and a buck somewhere close) until we managed to catch and spay and neuter the adults. When the rabbits we rescued that were too medically challenged to find homes for started to age in our care we lost 2-3 per year for 5 years to all manner of Design Flaws. I developed a whole “thing” about rabbit Design Flaws in the grand scheme of things. You only had to ponder design flaws 1-2958 inclusive to understand why rabbits need to reproduce prolificly. Anyway, *that* whole episode was not a good 7-8 years.
      Oops; sorry, I don’t *half* ramble.
      Thanks for your very kind comments on der blog. I had a suspicion that the Nocturne for Carla and Tyrone might not be everyone’s cuppa tea, but then I think you’d have to be in my head to “hear how it looks” right for them. I’m happy that the informal portraits are pleasing, too; neither one of them had any interest in having a big ole lens pointed their way.
      I have the image of moonrise over cat’s ears above idle windshield wipers in my head; have you thought of painting it?
      Cheers,
      pete

  5. January 24, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I was really moved by the story of your cats. How sad indeed to lose both so close together, so you could not even take solace in the one remaining. I loved the photos of the cats.

    I’m very intrigued by the title of your blog, ‘Pinging my Water Glass’. I think of flicking a thin glass with your fingers to make it ring. Have you heard the eerie sound of moistening your finger and running it round and round the rim of a wine glass?

    • 10 Pete
      January 24, 2009 at 11:58 pm

      Hi Valerie, yes, you’ve “got it in one!” The blog is, indeed, named for tapping on a glass for attention. I started it as a means to try to extend myself into the world a bit and wanted a title that would be a little on the low-key side. I love the sound of crystal (well, to be fair, some well-shaped aluminum cooking-pot lids are nearly as marvelously pure in tone, but can’t be rubbed into a drone as pure) and as a bored little kid was usually told a few times per event to stop rubbing the glasses at my grandparents’ anniversary dinners. Ben Franklin actually invented an instrument he called the “glass armonica” from the glass-friction effect. I also once had the fun of going to the Exploratorium science museum where they had very large Chinese brass bowls, filled with water, with two extruded solid brass handles specifically for rubbing. If you could achieve a tone on one of those monsters (around two feet across) not only did you get to hear the low moaning tone but the water danced with the tone and overtones, spattering droplets erupting upwards from energetic standing waves. Remarkable experience 🙂

      Thank you so much for the kindness of sharing your thoughts on the blog entry. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photographs of them. I know I’ll be muttering camera-settings decisions to no one in particular when I’m out in the yard trying to find something to take a picture of, forgetting that they’re not there, for some time to come.
      A belated Happy New Year to you!
      pete
      btw, that’s a *wonderful* purple owl avatar!


Leave a comment


Phrases that resonate in my head

Morning comes and morning goes with no regret
And evening brings the memories I can't forget
Empty rooms that echo as I climb the stairs
And empty clothes that drape and fall on empty chairs
.

From ‘Empty Chairs’

By Don McLean

Places to go, things to see…

Theme: Redoable Lite by Dean J Robinson
 All content, text and images, except where credited to other artists, ©2008-2010 Peter M. Spencer; all rights reserved. Use by permission.